Performing Objects

Initiated by: Marjolijn Dijkman and Kristof Van Gestel

2014 - 2022: Collective Research

Performing Objects experimented with objects and their possibilities to act as interactive performers toward their users or audience. This project researched different ways artists can anticipate this process during the conceptualization and the conception of their work. The artworks made for this project manifested themselves in different locations outside the regular arts contexts.

The project was process-oriented and created moments of (critical) reflection concerning our embodiment and relation to the objects surrounding us, moments of creation, and collective exploration during site visits and meetings with invited guests. The group created a playful and experimental situation where our relation to objects was tested and reflected upon.

We worked within an intimate group situation where people could experiment freely with new works and ideas with constructive feedback from their peers. Besides this internal group process, the project aimed to develop a direct relationship with specific audiences that became part of the project.

More information: Performing Objects

Initiated by: Marjolijn Dijkman and Kristof Van Gestel
Fascilitated by: Enough Room for Space
Involved: Pauline Hafsia M’barek, Sarah van Lamsweerde, Bie Michels, Alice De Mont, Marjolijn Dijkman, Rune Peitersen, Kristof Van Gestel, Dimitri Vangrunderbeek, Guy Woueté.

Guests / Former participants: Leontien Allemeersch, Bianca Baldi, Justin Balmain, Christoph Baum, Bart Van Dijck, Céline Butaye, Edwin Deen, Juan Duque, Maxime Jean-Baptiste, gerlach en koop, Lauren Grusenmeyer, Paulo Guerreiro, Reuben Henry, Laura Herman, Dunja Herzog, Wouter Hillaert, Hedwig Houben, Michiel Huijben, Per Hüttner, Liesbeth Huybrecht, Toril Johannessen, Ermias Kifleyesus, Karin Kihlberg, Frank Koolen, Nicolás Lamas, Heike Langsdorf, Anne Wetsi Mpoma, Laura Nsengiyumva, Anouchka Oler, Odilon Pain, Jan-Jasper Persijn, Dina Rabearivelo, Taraoo Ranarison, Manjato Rabeharinirina, Liantsoa Rakotonaivo, Carine Ratovonarivo, Anne Marie Sampaio, Sonia Si Ahmed, Bas Schevers, Johanna Sarah Schlenk, Simon Van Schuylenbergh, Dries Segers, Erika Sprey, Alina Tenser, Adrien Tirtiaux, Sarah Vanhee, Marthe Van Dessel, Nico Van Dijck, Herman Van Ingelgem, Elli Vassalou, Danny Vercauteren, Lorelinde Verhees.